Via Dolorosa

“Via Dolorosa” means “Way of Suffering” and it’s a remembrance of Jesus’ route to the cross. I’ve expanded this reflection for my own personal use by combining the Gospel accounts from Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John into one continuous reading. Reminiscent of the stations of the cross honored by many traditions, the readings are separated into the major events of Holy Week:

Maundy Thursday

  • The Last Supper
  • Garden of Gethsemane
  • Betrayal of Judas
  • Accusation by the Jews
  • Denial of Peter and Abandonment by All the Disciples 

Good Friday

  • Judgment before Pilate
  • Crown of Thorns
  • Carrying the Cross
  • Crucifixion
  • Darkness
  • It Is Finished – this is beautifully paralleled with Psalm 22  
  • Burial

Easter Sunday

  • Resurrection!

Reading the accounts side by side has been a powerful way for me to worship more freely and feel more deeply the events of this Holy Week. There’s a “pretty” version with color backgrounds as well as a more printable version. 

He is Risen! 

"I want to love God and love my neighbor,
but I don't know how."


Sign up to receive encouragement, tips and tools for how to love God and love your neighbor - without being weird! - in your inbox about every other week. No spam, just good stuff. Unsubscribe anytime.

Check your email to confirm your subscription!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This